Leave a comment

Sweet Mother

I’ve been in the habit, lately, of having nothing in the morning for breakfast, but a piece of rye bread and a coffee.  If someone were to see me painted from within a story, I think this detail would say a lot.

“Every morning, the woman ate one slice of rye bread and sipped on a coffee.”

It says volumes.  Rye bread.  It’s something a New Yorker eats like its a religion – rye bread and bialys and bagels.  For example, Wifesy hates rye bread.  Clearly, she is not from New York.  She has introduced me to the breakfast burrito.  This also says a great deal about her origins.  It indicates her Californian roots.  To me, a breakfast burrito is Mexican for breakfast.  (Ew.)  But, it’s growing on me, like everything else in sunny-landia is.

As I was thinking about my morning ritual, it reminded me of my Great Grandmother. …

View original post 683 more words

Posted 2012/10/16 by brianfclarkmn in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

